The Anniversary

Today is the worst of anniversaries. It’s the anniversary of this. There are a lot of potential anniversaries that come from cancer diagnosis and treatment. This is the one that is burned in my mind as the worst thing I went through with the most lasting consequences.

It’s a tough day.

I don’t remember the day of my diagnosis or the day of my first chemo treatment. I could look them up, but they aren’t days that stick out to me. It’s the day that I lost something irreplaceable, had badly advised surgery that’s left me with large scars that I see everyday and multiple revision surgeries. It’s the day that gave me some ptsd anxiety in hospital beds due to the way I was treated in the recovery room and in my care the first night I spent in the hospital.

It’s a tough fucking day.

14102162_10100791787109086_4406988859603171298_n

Furiously Happy art by John Rushing

One comment

Leave a Reply

