The Best Is Yet To Come

Ten years ago, today, A. and I went on our first date. I’m retiring our dating anniversary after this, but I think ten years is something to celebrate. It’s amazing how long ten years can seem, but in this context it seems like it’s flown by.

This last year was probably the hardest, but it was also one of the best with the many adventures we had. I think there are two mindsets you can walk away with from a life/death experience: you can focus more on the present and making each day really count or you can keep looking ahead and believing in the good things to come. I am not the put a smile on it and make cupcakes in the morning and greet each day kind of gal. I am totally cool with continuing to waste some days and having ups and downs. I refuse to live each day as my last or even entertain that mentality (because it’s pretty morbid it you think about it) and it puts so much pressure to be so goddamn cheerful and grateful all the time (I’m getting off track here). Instead I’m loving the good things we’ve had and done, but I’m also believing there is so much ahead of us to look forward to.

In ten years we’ve visited twelve countries together, not counting airport layovers. Before A. I’d only been to Canada once, and being from Vermont that barely counts as a foreign country. I didn’t need a passport. We’ve visited at least 21 states (not counting drive throughs) and lived in five together. I’ve lost track of the number of different homes we’ve had together, I would guess around 15. We’ve also been taken in by my parents, my aunt, A.’s aunt and uncle, and a good friend. We’ve adopted three fuzzy terrorists that enrich our lives when they’re not destroying them. We’re on our fourth car and had one scooter. We’ve each experienced a major hurricane that made us fear for our families and helped each other through it. We’ve experienced the loss of people we’ve loved together and we’ve survived a cancer diagnosis and treatment. All in all, I have no doubt that we have so much yet to come and we’ll be able to handle anything.

Come and let us live my Deare,
Let us love and never feare,
What the sowrest Fathers say:
Brightest Sol that dies to day
Lives againe as blithe to morrow,
But if we darke sons of sorrow
Set; o then, how long a Night
Shuts the Eyes of our short light!
Then let amorous kisses dwell
On our lips, begin and tell
A Thousand, and a Hundred, score
An Hundred, and a Thousand more,
Till another Thousand smother
That, and that wipe of another.
Thus at last when we have numbred
Many a Thousand, many a Hundred;
Wee’l confound the reckoning quite,
And lose our selves in wild delight:
While our joyes so multiply,
As shall mocke the envious eye.

Out of Catullus
-RICHARD CRASHAW

One comment

Leave a Reply

