For Better or Worse

When you get married and you vow to be together through good times and bad you don’t really know what your promising. For most of us it’s impossible to know the challenges and victories that a life together will bring.

Today is our third anniversary and I doubt very much that three years ago either one of us would have said “hospital” if you’d asked us where we’d be on our third anniversary. And yet… We are going out for a nice dinner later though so not all cancer filled.

Other things I couldn’t imagine thinking would be true on our third anniversary:

>Anton’s hair would be longer than mine

>My hair would be blue

>We’d both be unemployed

>I’d have gotten a boob job

>There would be a pirate flag hanging over our bed

I doubt that we’d have expected to be living at my parent’s house either, but it’s been said before that “life is what happens when you’re busy making plans.”

I would do things differently if I could, but the important thing is that we’re together (he spent our first anniversary at a funeral so we are actually improving things) and that we love each other very much. This very difficult thing has done nothing to our relationship and every day we see how much we love each other through the difficulty each day brings. I know that I am very much looking forward to the rest of our life because I know it’s only going to get better and I am so happy that I get to spend it with him.

There is not much in this life that is certain, plans can come undone at the drop of a hat, but me loving him is my one certainty and the best on I could have.

Cheers to three years and the many more to come.

September 10, 2011

September 10, 2011

Engagement photo in the barn across from my parent's house (where we are now)

Engagement photo in the barn across from my parent’s house (where we are now)

Glacier National Park on our road trip earlier this year

Glacier National Park on our road trip earlier this year

P.S. Thank you to two ladies who are very special to me and let me share their birthday. Happy Birthday Cristina and Ashley.

Leave a Reply

