‘Twas the Night Before Surgery…

Or afternoon rather.

So yesterday I did this:

10394824_10100320015787596_4993144174645411657_n

I had been going back and forth about my hair for a few weeks. Most likely it’s going to bail on me during chemo, so I knew I’d want to go short before that happened, but I started thinking about cutting it before surgery. Long hair is hard to wash when you have limited mobility, it takes forever to dry, and I kept shedding from stress which was really annoying as well. There’s also so little that I have control over right now, that it seemed like an opportunity to feel like I was taking some back.

Obviously I wasn’t going to just got for a cute short cut, I wanted something badass to help give me some extra oomph through this as well, so I decided on a faux hawk with blue tips. The best parts were that I was able to donate my hair to Locks of Love and get it cut by Stephanie who started cutting my hair when I was 12 in Vermont and has done it through four proms, multiple lengths, and on and off over 18 years now.

photo 1

Before

photo 2 (1)

After

It’s a drastic change, but hair grows back and being on the eve of another drastic change it was nice to be able to choose this one.

Here’s how you say goodbye to your long hair with awesome friends:

 

I’m pretty scared about tomorrow and not really sure how to prepare for it. Rena and Vivian are coming over this afternoon and we’re going to shoot again with my Dad and A. which should be fun. It’s a beautiful day so I’ll spend some of it outside since I’ll be shut in for a while.

Before I go I did want to say thank you so much to everyone who sent stuff from the registry that my friend Maia created. I continue to be blown away by everyone’s kindness and support through this.

See you all on the other side.

 

Leave a Reply

