Tumblr Staff: News!

I’m totally fine with Yahoo! purchasing Tumblr. There’s certainly some risk things will change, but I think that Tumblr will remain what we know and love and be given a better chance to develop.

Tumblr is a great blog platform and superior to WordPress in it’s ability to post different types of media. However, there are some functions that could be improved and with Yahoo!’s financial support, it stands a better chance of being able to make these.

Google owns Blogger and while I don’t think Blogger is a good platform, I don’t think Google owning it has made it feel less like an independent blogging platform. A lot of us were concerned with Facebook purchasing Instagram, but nothing has really changed there except for it’s relationship with Twitter.

I think Yahoo! will make a much better partner than Facebook would for Tumblr because it’s a much more diverse platform and I think ultimately it will be able to offer more. And I think Facebook is evil.

staff:

Everyone, I’m elated to tell you that Tumblr will be joining Yahoo.

Before touching on how awesome this is, let me try to allay any concerns: We’re not turning purple. Our headquarters isn’t moving. Our team isn’t changing. Our roadmap isn’t changing. And our mission – to empower creators to…

Tumblr Staff: News!

Leave a Reply

