How I Chose My Save-the-Dates

Once you have a date, venue and guest list, it’s time to send your save-the-date. Be prepared to be overwhelmed (in a good way) with choices. Unlike venues, with which you can be majorly held back by budget, it’s easy to find a ton of options in your price range for these.

If all else fails, you can do a postcard and have it printed at a local printer. There’s actually several free/cheap online sites that will help you design so you don’t have to be an artist to do something cute.

I spent a lot of time pouring over etsy.com and looking at all the wonderful pieces on there.

These are two of my favorites:

The first is a filmstrip-style magnet. I loved the playfulness and thought it would be a really fun way to spread the good news. It’s by loniann18.

Courtesy of loniann18

The other one I really liked was sent to me by my boss. She knows that A. and I have a scooter, and thought this would be perfect for us. I think this one is really classic-looking and stylish. It had a personal touch of the scooter and just was a really nice design. It’s by jackandjillwedding.

Courtesy of jackandjillwedding

I ended up going with this design, which I got through Costco.

Personal Library

Yes. I said Costco.

Costco has a wide selection of wedding invitations and save-the-dates, and you can order samples very cheaply.

I realized while I wanted something cute, I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on the save-the-date, because I felt that it would be better spent in other areas, like rings, invitations, etc. I was able to do something personal that was nicely designed while spending about $90 for 75 magnets (they ended up giving us additional ones for free), magnet card holders and envelopes. They also had spectacular service. The order went on sale shortly after I ordered, and I was able to get them to honor that. I also realized I should include location and our wedding website, and they let me cancel and redo it. They also called me when the image quality wasn’t going to print well and formatted the higher res image I sent them (they’ve since revamped their online proofing). Budget conscious and excellent customer service? What else are you looking for?

My save-the-dates won’t match my invitations, but that wasn’t important to me. I’m really happy with the finished product and definitely recommend checking Costco out.

Leave a Reply

