Finding My Workout

I have a hard time finding the energy to do much after most days at the office. My job often involves a lot of stress and working longer than Dolly Parton’s 9-5 (my biggest and only letdown from that lady).

Going for a run or doing a workout sounds horrible most days after work. The last thing I want to do is spend my precious non-work hours getting more exhausted and not relaxing.

First, I tried to join a gym. I got a really cheap year membership from 24-hour fitness, which is all over San Francisco. So I got to the gym and then realized… Wow… I have no clue how to workout. I played basketball and soccer all through high school and a little in college. I’ve never worked out in a gym and was overwhelmed as well as incredible self conscious. Those people that tell you that no one is judging you while you workout and may not look your best? Liars… Ironically I worked at a gym and I judged (yes I can be an asshole).

I tried running two years ago, I decided I’d do a ½ marathon. I’d never been a runner so I figured I needed to set my goal and started working towards it. After 2 ½ months of being good and running 3-4 times a week I finally making it up to 3 miles (longer than I’d ever run before). Then I went on vacation and completely lost my stride (literally and figuratively).

 Part of my problem with running was that I never enjoyed it. I didn’t get peace of mind, I would just think about how much it sucked while trying to psych myself up. My thoughts while running were usually something like this: “I hate this, this fucking sucks, I hate this so much…. You can do it! You can do it! Come, on you got this…. I hate this so much…” I would feel good afterwards, but I loathed the actual activity.

After two years of not doing much of anything athletic, I decided to give Yoga a try. I’d always stayed away from this kind of workout because it seemed girly and not enough activity for someone who liked being an athlete. It turns out, my needs have changed from 16yr old me to 26yr old me. I feel in love with yoga at my intro class. Not only did I get a good workout, but I felt all ‘blissed out’ afterwards. I physically felt lighter, happier, and much calmer. There wasn’t any frustrations, it was just pure goodness. Now I’m going as often as I can afford (yoga in a studio is not cheap), but it’s worth it to me. Working out keeps you healthy and the mental benefits are the best I’ve ever had.

If you haven’t found a way to workout that fits you yet, try different things, there’s so many ways to exercise and it will help us stay healthy and live longer.

I’ll also try to stop judging people at the gym.

(Image from travelvivi.com)

Leave a Reply

