Speeches

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a member of Toastmasters at my work. I work in account management so being able to speak at a meeting without embarrassing myself is a requirement. Despite the nerdiness involved with being a member of Toastmasters, it’s been really fun. It’s a very clever, funny, and creative group of people and I really look forward to the meetings.

One of the requirements of membership is giving speeches to the group. I don’t know these people well so it’s scary and good practice. The first speech had to be about yourself, I wanted to do something that would make my audience experience as well as listen so I added music. I picked songs that whenever I hear them, they make me think of someone or remember a specific piece of my life. It went really well, I was surprised by how strongly and quickly my audience reacted to the music I played. It definitely had the desired effect of adding another layer to the speech to take my audience deeper.

This song had the most reaction, it was the song I listened to somewhat constantly when I had my heart broken the first time:

Leave a Reply

